APP "Tales Of Mystery and Imagination" album

The Alan Parsons Project

Tales of Mystery and Imagination (1987)

From the time of its initial release, "Tales" had been re-released many times with different cover artwork on different formats from vinyl and cassette to the dreaded 8-track. But even up to the mid-eighties this record had not been put on CD. When the time came, Alan took the high-road and instead of just slapping it into a jewel case, he went back into the studio and remastered this classic album.

A Dream Within A Dream instrumental (4:13) [with narration by Orson Welles]

The Raven vocal: Alan Parsons (EMI vocoder), Leonard Whiting (3:57) [new guitar solo: Ian Bairnson]

The Tell-Tale Heart vocal: Arthur Brown (4:38)

The Cask of Amontillado vocal: John Miles (4:33) [new snyths: Alan Parsons]

(The System Of) Doctor Tarr and Professor Fether vocal: John Miles (4:20) [new "Cathedral Organ": Alan Parsons]

The Fall of the House of Usher instrumental

I Prelude (7:02)

II Arrival (2:39)

III Intermezzo (1:00)

IV Pavane (4:36) [new synth: Eric Woolfson]

V Fall (0:51)

To One In Paradise vocal: Terry Sylvester (4:46)


Bass: David Paton, Joe Puerta

String Bass: Darryl Runswick

Drums: Stuart Tosh, Burleigh Drummond

Guitars: Ian Bairnson, David Paton, David Pack, Alan Parsons

Keyboards: Billy Lyall, Christopher North, Eric Woolfson, Andrew Powell, Francis Monkman, Alan Parsons

Cimbalom and Kantele: John Leach

Vocals: John Miles, Arthur Brown, Alan Parsons, Terry Sylvester, Leonard Whiting, Jack Harris, Eric Woolfson, Jane Powell, Smokey Parsons, David Paton, Stuart Tosh, and The English Chorale.

Back to The Avenue Home Page

This page, copyright 2002 The Avenue / Avenue Communications.