The Alan Parsons Project

Tales of Mystery and Imagination (1987)

From the time of its initial release, "Tales" had been re-released many times with different cover artwork on different formats from vinyl and cassette to the dreaded 8-track. But even up to the mid-eighties this record had not been put on CD. When the time came, Alan took the high-road and instead of just slapping it into a jewel case, he went back into the studio and remastered this classic album.

BulletA Dream Within A Dream instrumental (4:13) [with narration by Orson Welles]

BulletThe Raven vocal: Alan Parsons (EMI vocoder), Leonard Whiting (3:57) [new guitar solo: Ian Bairnson]

BulletThe Tell-Tale Heart vocal: Arthur Brown (4:38)

BulletThe Cask of Amontillado vocal: John Miles (4:33) [new snyths: Alan Parsons]

Bullet(The System Of) Doctor Tarr and Professor Fether vocal: John Miles (4:20) [new "Cathedral Organ": Alan Parsons]

BulletThe Fall of the House of Usher instrumental

BulletI Prelude (7:02)

BulletII Arrival (2:39)

BulletIII Intermezzo (1:00)

BulletIV Pavane (4:36) [new synth: Eric Woolfson]

BulletV Fall (0:51)

BulletTo One In Paradise vocal: Terry Sylvester (4:46)


Bass: David Paton, Joe Puerta

String Bass: Darryl Runswick

Drums: Stuart Tosh, Burleigh Drummond

Guitars: Ian Bairnson, David Paton, David Pack, Alan Parsons

Keyboards: Billy Lyall, Christopher North, Eric Woolfson, Andrew Powell, Francis Monkman, Alan Parsons

Cimbalom and Kantele: John Leach

Vocals: John Miles, Arthur Brown, Alan Parsons, Terry Sylvester, Leonard Whiting, Jack Harris, Eric Woolfson, Jane Powell, Smokey Parsons, David Paton, Stuart Tosh, and The English Chorale.

Back to The Avenue Home Page

This page, copyright 1997 The Avenue / Avenue Communications.